Ramen, again

5 May

Due to an unpleasant event, I had to make a short trip to Taiwan last week. Though I was super busy during the five full days that I was there, I still managed to squeeze in a little time for my favorite- ramen.

We visited a fairly new and popular ramen place, 屯京拉麵. We purposely arrived before noon knowing there will definitely be a wait time if we go any later. And of course, we were right. When we were finished, there was a long line of hungry people waiting outside in the 90 degree humid sun.

So how was the food? Let’s see…

This is the salad- veggies were fresh, cold and crispy. The dressing was definitely something I have never had before- though it is light at first, it’s also got a thick lard flavor (not that I am complaining or anything). It was really yummy and didn’t taste too heavy.

Tofu- this was actually quite good. The tofu was super tender, I had a hard time picking it up with my chopsticks. haha.

And the ramen. This was the original. It was definitely full of flavor. The soup was good, loved the egg, and the meat was also nice and tender.

Though the broth was delicious, it was also a bit too salty for my taste and the layer of fat floating on top was also a bit disturbing. I understand that’s how many people like the soup, so I won’t complain too much here.

The best part of the ramen for me is definitely the noodles though. Fresh, hand-pulled noodles were cooked perfectly with a nice bite.

And that’s all from the ramen place. If I want ramen again, though, I would probably pick this place instead though. First, I probably don’t have to wait as long, second, their noodles are customized, so I can make the noodles as chewy as I like, or the soup as light as I’d prefer.

If you visit Taipei and would like a hot bowl of ramen from here, here is the information:

屯京拉麵 (Tuin Jing Ramen)
北市敦化南路一段187巷36號
Telephone: 02-27317897
Hours: 11:00-23:00

One Response to “Ramen, again”

  1. lei May 8, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    omg the picture of the tofu is amazing.

Leave a Reply

Liv Hambrett

An Australian Writer in (North) Germany

A Sweeter Thing

Food Adventures

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Annie's Cooking Lab

Cooking and baking with a yellow lab sous chef

We Call Him Yes!Chef!

"because life is too short to eat crappy food"...Yes!Chef!

What's Cooking on Planet Byn

welcome to my world of baking

Going Dutch

and loving it

Seeds Of Remembrance

"A journey of remembrance the true seeds within, connecting in with the different season of a woman"

Dating, Breaking News, Celeb Gossip & Everything College | CC

Advice on student style, collegiate dating discussion guides, relationship advice and women's studies.

TheAdventuresOfDr

chasing the world, finding bliss

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

