Monster Cookies

21 May

Cookies, cookies, cookies.

It was my last day at my job before I head to my summer internship, and I decided to bake cookies for the co-workers to show my appreciation.

I wanted to try something I’ve never done before. After looking up a couple of different recipes, I decided to go with Monster Cookies.

Monster cookies, what the heck does that mean anyway? Reminds me of Lady Gaga or Nikki Minaj.

Truth is, I don’t have the answer to why Monster cookies are called Monster cookies… I am assuming they are monster because they are made with a lot of different ingredients and since oatmeal is the main ingredient, the surface of the cookie is uneven and (a little ugly), and that’s why they are monster-like? Maybe? I don’t know. Or maybe the person who made up the cookies’ last name is Monster. Who knows. Who care. Ok, I am going to stop and just get to the point.

So the recipe below was originally by Donna Haney then was adapted by Paula Deen then adapted by me. Confusing. Yes. In other words, I looked up the recipe posted on Foodnetwork.com and changed a few things here and there.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 12-ounce jar creamy peanut butter
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup multi-colored chocolate candies (M&Ms)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 4 1/2 cups quick-cooking oatmeal (not instant)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats.

In a very large mixing bowl, combine the eggs and sugars. Mix well. Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter, and butter. Mix well. Stir in the chocolate candies, chocolate chips, baking soda, and oatmeal. Drop by tablespoons 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 12 minutes. Do not overbake. Let stand for about 3 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool. When cool, store in large resealable plastic bags.

I made really large dough balls at the beginning, then realized the trick is do roll smaller balls so the cookies would bake evenly as they can be a little more wet than typical doughs.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Liv Hambrett

An Australian in Germany

A Sweeter Thing

Food Adventures

Sweet Revelations

Sweet DIY Projects Teaching You To Live Soulfully, Resourcefully and Deliciously!

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Annie's Cooking Lab

Cooking and baking with a yellow lab sous chef

We Call Him Yes!Chef!

"because life is too short to eat crappy food"...Yes!Chef!

What's Cooking on Planet Byn

welcome to my world of baking

Going Dutch

and loving it

Seeds Of Remembrance

My Photographic Journey through Influential Faces

Dating, Breaking News, Celeb Gossip & Everything College | CC

Advice on student style, collegiate dating discussion guides, relationship advice and women's studies.

TheAdventuresOfDr

chasing the world, finding bliss

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

