Peking Duck House- Chinatown, NYC

11 Jan

I have always wanted to visit Peking Duck House since my cousin raved about it all the time. Though I am of Chinese decent, I have probably only had Peking duck once, maybe twice, when I was little. My mom wasn’t a big fan of it since it is not all that healthy- fat, oily, but delicious!

Anyway, I finally made a trip to the Peking Duck House in Chinatown the other day. What a surprise for me it was. I am so used to the dirtier, dingier (but delicious) places in Chinatown, I definitely didn’t see this fancier, trying-to-be-upscale restaurant in the heart of Chinatown.

Of course, for the three of us, we ordered one duck. The head chef came to the table with a roasted duck and sliced it in front of us.

IMG_5975

Then we have a plate of juicy, greasy, delicious smelling duck meat, WITH SKIN!

IMG_5980Here we have a bowl of Hoisin sauce.

IMG_5976A plate of sliced scallions and cucumber to refresh the wraps!

IMG_5978And the wraps itself.

IMG_5979And this is how you assemble your Peking duck- Hoisin sauce on the bottom, duck meat, then greens.

IMG_5981And we wrap it together. Ta-Da!IMG_5982Since I am not a Peking duck connoisseur, this Peking duck to me was DELICIOUS! The duck is tender, hoisin sauce adds a nice sweetness and a little tang to it, cucumber is refreshing, and the scallions add a layer of depth to the “sandwich”. It was so good! One thing I will say is that it can get overwhelmingly greasy after a certain point. This is when moderation is key. Unless you love grease. Then you should probably watch your cholesterols because eating like this can be dangerous to your health!

Sorry, I got carried away. Anyway, there are a few locations for Peking Duck House in New York City, If you are in town and am feeling it, I would definitely recommend it!

Please let me know if you also have suggestions of other Peking duck places! I would love to try more!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Liv Hambrett

An Australian Writer in (North) Germany

A Sweeter Thing

Food Adventures

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Annie's Cooking Lab

Cooking and baking with a yellow lab sous chef

We Call Him Yes!Chef!

"because life is too short to eat crappy food"...Yes!Chef!

What's Cooking on Planet Byn

welcome to my world of baking

Going Dutch

and loving it

Seeds Of Remembrance

"A journey of remembrance the true seeds within, connecting in with the different season of a woman"

Dating, Breaking News, Celeb Gossip & Everything College | CC

Advice on student style, collegiate dating discussion guides, relationship advice and women's studies.

TheAdventuresOfDr

chasing the world, finding bliss

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

