Smoothies!

4 Feb

I noticed that I gain about 3-5 pounds throughout winter every year. It’s cold outside and despite my busy schedule, I still eat constantly and often don’t have the motivation or energy to work out like I do during other seasons of the year. Even when I do work out, I don’t see the results in terms of losing weight. It’s a struggle.

Another problem I’ve been encountering is that I don’t eat enough veggies. This is an all-year round problem.

A few weeks ago, I decided to make smoothies to lose a few pounds, and also to enhance my veggie intake. It’s not extreme. I make a green smoothie for breakfast and have it throughout the morning to keep myself full, I may occasionally have an additional smoothie at night or in the late afternoon when I am hungry for a snack. I have been consuming so much veggies and with working out, I have lost a few pounds!

The smoothie experience has been positive. I go to the local farm/grocery store and buy any veggies/fruit they have, preferably organic. I also bought ground flaxseed to add in extra fiber (be careful though, they add extra calories if you put in too much!). Blend with some almond milk, add a little agave nectar extra sweetness, and the smoothie is done! Veggies that I like to buy are- kale, spinach, mache, celery, tomatoes, cucumber, green peppers. In addition, I sometimes also add in frozen blueberries, banana, orange, or whatever fruit I have on hand. The fruits add sweetness so the smoothies are extra yummy!  I even add a few leaves of mint or parsley in the smoothies sometimes to brighten up the taste a bit.

IMG_6114 IMG_6117

There really isn’t a recipe for these smoothies. The only problem I can envision people have is getting used to drinking the veggie smoothies. Someone I worked with said to me the other day, “it smells like a garden…” and I thought it was so funny because I absolutely have no problem consuming the green smoothie, but it may be something to get used to for other people who don’t like vegetables.

If you are one of those people who don’t like the smell of vegetables, you can certainly put a scoop of peanut butter or cocoa powder in your smoothie to get a creamier taste. Or if you want to go all fruit, they can’t go wrong either, you can still get good nutrition from an all-natural smoothie.

You see, I am not a nutritionist. I don’t fully know what makes a green smoothie good in terms of vitamin C, vitamin A, calcium, etc. All I know is that veggies are good for my body, and I feel great after drinking the smoothies. That’s enough for me! I hope to keep this good habit up for a while. You should try it too!

2 Responses to “Smoothies!”

  1. lei February 7, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    are you drinking the smoothies as meal replacements, or to provide supplemental nutrition?

    • Eat This, Ate That February 7, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

      Both. I drink it for breakfast. Sometimes by itself sometimes with other stuff.

Leave a Reply

Liv Hambrett

An Australian in Germany

A Sweeter Thing

Food Adventures

Sweet Revelations

Sweet DIY Projects Teaching You To Live Soulfully, Resourcefully and Deliciously!

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Annie's Cooking Lab

Cooking and baking with a yellow lab sous chef

We Call Him Yes!Chef!

"because life is too short to eat crappy food"...Yes!Chef!

What's Cooking on Planet Byn

welcome to my world of baking

Going Dutch

and loving it

Seeds Of Remembrance

My Photographic Journey through Influential Faces

Dating, Breaking News, Celeb Gossip & Everything College | CC

Advice on student style, collegiate dating discussion guides, relationship advice and women's studies.

TheAdventuresOfDr

chasing the world, finding bliss

Sweet And Crumby

Baking, a Love Story

